Welcome to Southwell Town Council
Southwell Images
Town Plan Questionnaires PDF Print E-mail
Written by Southwell Council   
Monday, 04 August 2008

Thank you to everyone who filled in their Town Plan Questionnaire.

The return date for completing them was extended for two weeks  as there had been porblems with distributing all the copies to residents.

All the completed questionnaires which were handed in to the 'drop off' points have now been collected and work will soon begin on analysing the responses. the Town Forum will then put together the new Town Plan for 2008-2011. This will create the 'blueprint' for Town Council plans and will be distributed to all residents when it has been completed.

Town Plan Questionnaire PDF Print E-mail
Written by Southwell Council   
Wednesday, 18 June 2008

Please click hyperlink to download a copy of the Town Plan Questions 2008 Final v2.doc Town Plan Questions 2008 Final v2.doc (328.00 KB 18.06.2008 11:45)


Council Officers for 2008-2009 PDF Print E-mail
Written by Southwell Council   
Monday, 26 May 2008

The Annual Town meeting was held on Wednesday 21st May when the outgoing Chairman, Councillor Beryl Prentice gave her report on the past year's events.She also thanked her fellow councillors for their hard work during the year, the council support staff and local residents who have contributed to council activities during the year.

Councillor Graham Ball (Liberal Democrat) was unanimously elected as Chairman for 2008-2009. Graham was Vice-Chairman last year and has also previously been Chairman of the Finance and Policy Committee, the Planning Committee and Leader of the Council.

Councillor Andrew Gregory (Independent) was also elected unanimously as Vice Chairman of the Council and proceded to Chair the meeting as Councillor Ball was in Belfast on business.

Councillor Peter Harris was elected as Leader of the Council

All members agreed that in the interest of continuity, it was sensible for the main committee representation to remain unaltered, with only one or two minor alterations on other representation.


Chairman- Councillor Brendan Haigh;  Vice-Chairman - Councillor Andrew Gregory.

The Highways Working Party will be elected from members of Planning Committee

Finance and Policy:

Chairman: Councillor Peter Harris;  Vice-Chairman Councillor Malcolm Rose

Town Forum: Chairman Councillor Peter Harris

Southwell Tourism Partnership: Chairman - Councillor Beryl Prentice


For a full list of members of committees and working parties please look on the pages where the council miniutes are detailed.



Introduction of charges in Southwell car parks PDF Print E-mail
Written by Southwell Council   
Monday, 31 March 2008

Newark and Sherwood District Council have issued a notice  giving their intention to commence charging in King Street and Church Street car parks from Monday 12 May. Charges will apply from 8am to 6pm but there will be an initial period of 2 hours free parking followed by charges of £1.50 to cover the next three hours and £1 an hour thereafter. The initial free period has only been permitted because the Town Council has agreed to pay £5000 from the town's precept to the District Council.

Southwell Town Council opposed any charging regime that did not take into consideration the three conditions they re-iterated at their previous meeting. Other places in the District such as Edwinstowe and Ollerton are not having charges imposed on them and the introduction of the charging in Southwell will have serious implications for on-street parking.  The Council has written to the District Council to express its concerns.

There is insufficent long stay parking  in the town and because of the historical structure of the town, many householders who live in the centre have no off street parking. The District Council has stated that residents parking is the responsibility of the County Council, who also state that they do not operate residents' schemes.

IF YOU WISH TO MAKE REPRESENTATIONS ON THIS SUBJECT you can write to the District Council at Kelham Hall. The 'consultation' period ends on 11th April.

Happy New Year! PDF Print E-mail
Written by Southwell Council   
Wednesday, 09 January 2008

The Town Council sends New Year greetings to all residents, visitors and potential visitors and wishes everyone a peaceful and prosperous 2008.

It is always slightly sad to see the town without the christmas trees which make the centre look so attractive during the dull days of December. The new LCD lights were very pretty  (as well as being low energy) and will re-appear next year. The enormous tree on Kings Street was donated to the town by a resident as it had grown too large for where it was growing. We are very grateful to the owner of the house on King Street who allowed us to erect and light the tree in her front garden. It looked spectacular!

Dates for Fiskerton tip closure PDF Print E-mail
Written by Southwell Council   
Saturday, 15 December 2007

Since the last information published we have heard that the tip will be closed for refurbishment from 28th January 2008 until 25th February 2008.Cotham and Bilsthorpe will be the nearest centres for Southwell residents during this time.


<< Start < Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next > End >>

Results 100 - 110 of 145